GCI Murfreesboro April 2015 Educator of the Month!

EducatorTrophyEach month, we hand out ballots to our students to select their nominee for the Educator of the Month award.  The rules for voters are simple: they may vote any teacher in the building exceptthe one whose class they are currently in!  They may tout the virtues of their teachers to other students not in their class, but voting for their own is prohibited!

GCI Murfreesboro Campus February 2015 Educator of the Month…

 

IMG_20150408_165651Courtney Brooke Waldon

What is your name? Courtney Brooke Waldon, but I prefer ‘Brooke’

What your favorite color? Glitter

When did you start your journey in the beauty industry? I began in May 2008 when I enrolled into Paul Mitchell the School Nashville. Quick story, so I have always played around with hair but never thought of having a career with it. I was actually on a path to become a nurse, when I came to visit my aunt who had at the time just moved to Murfreesboro. We were having one of those ‘pick your future wisely’ talks and she was wonder why I had not chose a career that allowed me to be creative. So, she had me do some research on beauty schools and tour. The more I googled, the more excited I got. The next thing I know, I was tour this school and that school until I went to Paul Mitchell. My admission rep was the sister of a guy name Alex I had actually graduated with in Paducah, Ky. What were the odds??? So, I felt like it was faith. I have never enjoyed learning about something so much as I do hair, skin and nails.

How did you hear about/join the GCI team? It was probably late Aug 2013 when Mrs. Sara  facebooked me and asked if I was interested in teaching on nights. Of course, I love to be in the spotlight and more importantly I missed Mrs. Sara being my co-worker (she had the best impression of a school zone cross guard she had to pass when dropping her children off), so I said yes. Next, thing I was emailing Mrs. Beth and interviewing with Mrs. Meyers and Ms. Tonia. And now I have been here for a year and half.20150408_165322

What do you enjoy most about teaching? I enjoy the “aa-ha” moments. You know, like when it’s so simple its hard and then I finally hit it on the nail for that student and you get see their light bulb turn on.

What advice would you share with fellow and aspiring educators? Teaching is by far the most difficult thing I have every done. I have honestly just learned that I love this career because I truly love what I teach. This is my escape from real world problem.

 

 

Want more information?  Curious about what makes the educators at Georgia Career Institute a cut above the rest?  Looking for that new career?  Give us a shout!

Leave a Reply

